A Walk to Remember (:

Precious Paradise

Have you ever wondered what triggers your tummy to feel happy ? Your heart to feel warm and fuzzy? Most would say a delicious ice-cream donut nut or cheesy steak fires, but I think it’s much more than that. To me it’s the pleasure of spending time with those you love and appreciate the most… your family!

Image

Image

Image

Although sometimes it’s hard to squeeze even a slice of room for family time, especially as seniors, we need to make an effort to spend time with our family because most of us dash off when we go to college and forget the meaning of family memories. I know that for me, the moments I spend next to those I love are memories that will remain in my heart and may never come again. Thus, I try my best to place school aside at least for half the day, in order to spend time with my family. Whether it be a small talk before dinner or a lunch date with my brother and sister, I realized that as I get older I will miss these memories, but one day look back and feel no regret.

In particularly, if you have a younger or older sibling try to spend time with them because in the long run they are the ones whom you will create the rest of your memories with as your kids grow up with them. I was fortunate enough to have a younger sister named Maria and and older brother named Oscar. For the most part I get along with my brother, although at times he can be obnoxious and irritating, I’ve learned to accept his personality and thank him for the advises he gives me about life. He makes me realize that in life school comes first and should be until you accomplish your goals, but having fun is part of growing up and learning from our mistakes and should be a part of growing up. Thus, the small moments I spend with him, I cherish because he opens my eyes to what life has to offer and what I should and shouldn’t do for my own good. For instance, he encourages me to seek clubs in college and get involved with groups of students, so that I can be more confident with myself and learn to balance school, work, and family time. I know this is very hard for him to do, but he demonstrates to me, but most importantly himself that he is capable of doing all three as long as you are willing to sacrifice one more than the other. This is what I admire most about my brother because in the process him learning to juggle his life, so am I learning to plan what I will do next year in college.

Image

Additionally, most girls my age long to have a sister whom they can talk to with openness and confidence; my sister is this person. Even though we are three in a half years apart, my sister is a precious gift that I was lucky to receive from God. Although we argue everyday for simple things, such as who gets to wear the shirt my mom bought us first, who has to watch the dishes for the night, not closing the bathroom door, not cleaning up the room before going to school, who gets to watch t.v. first in the living room….as you can tell the list goes on and on. I’m sure many girls feel the same way with their sisters, but I know that many like myself wouldn’t be able to live without their other piece of chunky peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

 Image

Despite, our fights we continue to express our care for one another everyday. From silly bed time handshakes to our famous nickname for one another, which is MEEEMOOO!! (: I know that through everything, she is always by my side to help me when I can’t handle my emotions, to make me smile, to make me laugh, but above all to keep my feet placed firmly on the ground. I know that when I hopefully go to college and attend my dream school, I will miss her laugh and her eagerness to make a joke out of every silly thing, such as the way my mother says, ‘bash,’ heheh. I will also miss her strange car adventures, such as her weird dancing as we cross a yellow light, which always makes me giggle and be thankful for making my mood brighter throughout the day!

Image

Thus, last saturday afternoon we had planned to go on a mini adventure, just the two of us. She had told me about a small eco friendly place where her best friend and her went over winter break. I was skeptic at first because I had planned to take her out for yogurt passion and walk around Disneyland to see the fireworks, but I decided to go with her plan.

 Image

 Image

As soon as we got to the the place, I realized that is was the same place my english teacher had recommended us to go visit, it’s called the Camp and is located in Costa Mesa. The moment I parked I recognized that each parking space had cute little mottos that were uniquely different for every parking space. Our motto was, “Follow new trails,” which I thought was neat because we were embarking on a small adventure. I thought the Camp was going to be dull and small, but to my surprise it was the cutest vintage place I have every gone to. When we walked from store to store, every corner unfolded a mystery such as a small fire place, a rusty car with glittering lights, canned bins with water sprinkling out, or wooden signs for more trails within the outdoor mall.

 Image

 Image

Image

As we walked further in the mall, we found little restaurants that were tucked together. WHat I loved about this, was that every step you took you found a new adventure and simply sit and relax. When it came time for supper, we contemplated on eating at Ecco or Old vine Cafe. In the end we decided to eat at Ecco because it looked more cozy and had a variety of choses to choose from. I loved how we could have ate both inside or outside next to the fire place because it made it seem like you were at home enjoying a warm dinner!

 Image

The waitress was super friendly and made us feel at home. My sister chose the chicken and pesto pizza, and I chose a gluten free garlic chicken pasta with artichokes. Although we were both iffy about trying vegan food, we were stunned by how delicious and healthy it was. We both shared our food and all I have to say is that is was amazing and the portions were big.

 Image

Image

Image

After eating dinner, we decided to continue walking around the forest like mall. We encountered a path of stairs that had motivational words streaming from it. We decided to climb it and found a small path that lead to an ally where you could glare at the stars perfectly and watch as the sunset sparkled away. This is exactly what we did, and it made me be thankful for having my sister by my side because she is the warm blanket that comforts me when I’m sad and the crazy freak that makes me laugh every time she acts silly! My laugh is similar to when I watched the movie in my english class called Three O’ Clock High.

 Image

As we walked back to the car, I thanked God for such an amazing evening that I had spent with my sister. Remember that life is full of regrets, despair, stress, but above all happiness. Thus, spend these times with those you love and cherish the miracles that life offers you each day with positivity and curiosity! (:

Quote: “We live in a wonderful world full of beauty, charm, and adventure. There is no end to the adventures we can have if we only seek them with our eyes open.” -Unknown

Leave a Reply

