~Bon Appetit~

~Dinner Date with a Special Someone~

All week I waited for Friday to come around because it was the day I would spend quality time with a very special person. I had made reservations at our favorite restaurant and had my wardrobe ready to go after school. When Friday finally came, I was overjoyed to devour the tasty food and spend time with that special someone. She is none other than my loving mother.

 Image

This dinner had been planned since two weeks. My mother and I are both pasta lovers and are always pleased to try new pasta recipes. Every thursday we both contemplate on what pasta sauce to marinate our spaghetti with for dinner and even add our own twist to the pasta to make it a new recipe. From sprinkles of bacon, to crusted layered cheese, to roasted veggies; we invent new ways to love pasta. Thus, what better way to enjoy pasta than going to Olive Garden. Although many might not be a fan of macaroni, I would recommend everyone to at least give this restaurant a try because they have a variety of ways to dress a bowl of pasta. From different noodles, creamy sauces, chicken, seafood, or layered steak. But wait theres more; because every dish you get a side of garlic breadsticks that are fluffy on the inside and golden brown on the outside. Just thinking about it makes my mouth watery.

 Image

My mother and I chose a meal deal, which had two entrees, unlimited soup or salad and breadsticks, and two appetizers or one dessert for both. My mother had the Parmesan Crusted Chicken and I had the Parmesan Crusted Prosciutto Tortellini. Although we love desserts, our tummies went towards the appetizers. We chose the Parmesan Roasted Asparagus and the Tuscan White Bean Hummus, which both were delicious. You can tell we love pasta!

 Image

 Delicious Salad with creamy caesar dressing

Image

Creamy Potato Sausage Soup

Appetizers:

Image

Image

Meal Course: Yum! 

Image

Image

As we ate our dinner, we talked about our week and how it had gone. We laughed at the silliest things, such as how I was so concentrating in gulping up the bowl of tortellini that I had parmesan sauce on the side of my cheeks. It was a bit embarrassing, but we both laughed at how ridiculously we loved pasta. Times like this, that I get to spend with my mother are truly precious because they remind me of how fortunate and thankful I am to have her be part of my life. Especially as a teenager in high school because my week revolves around going to practice, coming home and doing my homework, eating dinner, and going to bed. Thus, I rarely get any time to actually sit down and talk with my parents about how their day went at work. As s senior these memories that I create with my mother are very important as I anxiously await where I will begin the next chapters in my life. I know that between all the most of seeking where I will go, she will be right next to me, no matter where I go.

   Image

As we ended our dinner, we decided to go walk around Downtown Disneyland and watch the fireworks. The fireworks brought me back to my childhood; of the times I use to sleep in the stroller and have my mother pick me up to watch the fireworks together. This time however I wrapped my harms around my mother and cuddled her with warmth. We took many pictures and cherished the company of one another as we talked about our family vacation. When it was around ten at night we made our way back home as we sang all the songs on the radio. I laughed at how pitchy our voices sounded and how we would mess up the lyrics to the songs, despite us saying we knew the whole chorus. As we got home, I made a promise to myself that I would seek ways to spend more time with my mother and my family in general because they remind me of what is truly important in life. I thanked God for such a perfect day! (:

 Image

Quote: “The bad news is time flies. The good news is you’re the pilot.” -Michael Althsuler

Leave a Reply

