Transforming Into a Princess

           Transforming into a Princess

It’s that time of the year when girls dazzle their wardrobe with their princess gown, exquisite makeup, and curls that bounce with every step they take. The time when their high school prince creatively asks them to attend the homecoming dance as their special date. This day transforms girls into beautiful goddesses, making them feel special and charming. Although this day is ravished with excitement, anxiousness, and happiness as a senior this year I was very skeptical on whether I should be a part of the homecoming mist.

In my three years at Fountain Valley High School I have never experienced butterflies buzzing in my stomach for a school dance; primarily because I’m extremely coyly and afraid of encountering new things. I have though, got a wave of nervousness when opening the workbook to the essay questions that the AP curriculum proposed during my AP English exam last year. However, getting ready for a dance is a different feeling that makes you feel comely inside and out. Thus, after much deliberation I came to the conclusion that homecoming was a piece of  puzzle to my senior memories. That on saturday as I would be getting ready I would remember the fuzziness I would feel in my stomach and the excitement to take many pictures with the people that I love. I realized that pictures might not capture my feelings, but the happiness in my face that I would share with my future family.

Thus, when I purchased my ticket on October 2, I was delighted with joy to open a new door in my life. And as I searched for a dress on saturday with my mother and sister, I became aware of  how amusing it was to try on dresses and become one step closer to the special day. Throughout this brief journey I told myself that my goal was to take baby steps to unlock a new adventure in my life. That whether it turned out pleasant our was a total mistake, I should approach it with positivity and be thankful for creating a new memory. 

This path reminded me that life should depend on trying new things and learning to be open with a new opportunity. In fact, this experience taught me a lesson when I approach my innovation project this year for english, which is that my project should not consist of an ordinary task, but instead one that is creative and can help a junk of people. I should try something new and see how well it works so that in the future I can either learn from my mistake or have more courage to try new ideas.

At the end of the day, just as cinderella transforms into her sparkly plumply dress so will every girl on the homecoming dance!

Quote: “We keep moving forward, opening new doors, doing new things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” -Walt Disney

Image

Senior Memories (:

 

Leave a Reply

